Tags

, , , ,

01-1

This thought by Vicki Davis, the Cool Cat Teacher, reminds me of something I read from Dave Burgess, author of Teach Like a Pirate. He asks if the students did not have to be in your class, would you be teaching to an empty room?

I think both thoughts make a great point. Are we making school a place of discovery and learning? Or would they rather be somewhere else. Now, I understand that no matter what we do, there will be days (maybe even a lot) where it is difficult to do more than just survive, but we should be continually working toward making that less and less. We should be working toward making our classrooms somewhere the kids want to be.

Another thing to note about Davis’ thought is that she asks about seeing joy, not happiness. I think this can be a useful distinction. Our students would probably be more happy to sit at home and play video games all day, but the joy of learning would be limited.

For those of you that don’t know me, I am a little strange. Full disclosure: actually I’m a lot strange. I am continually learning. I listen to podcasts (my wife teases me that I rarely listen to the radio), I read books (or parts of them), blogs, Twitter to expand my PLN (Personal Learning Network).

Why?

  • Selfishly, I want to enjoy my career and strive to do what I can to make it better.
  • Unselfishly, I want my kids to enjoy school, and more importantly, learning and I strive to learn new things to make it better.
  • To create lifelong learners- Our kiddos will likely spend more time out of school than in & I want them to NEVER stop learning.
  • I NEVER want to stop learning.

What are you doing to help create a place your students want to come back to? What lessons or tricks or management strategies do you use to make them (and you 🙂 ) want to come back?

Share in the comments. Be sure to follow the blog if you want alerts when there is a new post.

Derrick

dean-shareski-joy-student-feedback

