maxresdefault

I am not under any self delusion to think that I know a whole bunch about teaching, but neither am I completely ignorant.

To be honest, most of the stuff I know is from stealing from others with good ideas. Any good teacher knows how to steal ideas from others (Disclaimer: make sure you give credit when you can)

So, getting back on focus (The blog is not described as scattered thoughts for nothing…ok ok, I’m focusing)…

I am not really anybody super special. I don’t have too many original thoughts. I do not think too highly of myself. BUT…I have learned that that is okay. I have learned that it is much better to learn from mistakes. Mine, yours, others (preferably others 🙂 ). I have learned to learn from what people have had success with. Me, you, others.

Here’s the cool thing, though. My contribution to my world, to my class, to my family can make a difference in the life of one person (hopefully more).

Isn’t that one of the reasons we became teachers? To make a difference in the life of a student? Because some teacher along the way became some beacon of hope for us. Took notice of us. Got us excited about learning.

Will I be the best in my field? Highly unlikely. There can only be one best.there-can-be-only-one-quote-2

However, I CAN make a difference. That is what is exciting. That is what should be humbling about teaching. When that classroom door closes, who might be changed or inspired by our words, our actions, our passion for learning, our love of teaching students?

Go out there and make a difference. Even (or especially) if you think you are not anyone special. You could be…for one.

DB

