I don’t know exactly where I saw this quote, but I think it offers a lot of insight when you pause and reflect on it. (Full disclosure- I do not always remember what it is like. I certainly don’t think I am great at this)

120meme

I earned my college degree more than 10 years ago. It may not seem like a long time, but there is so much I have forgotten. Every once in a while, I have to read something that is longer than a blog post and more in depth than a Facebook post. AKA, I actually have to think about it, read twice, forget what I was reading, read it again, get a snack, reread it again, realize the deadline for finishing is coming up, panic, reread it again, talk to my neighbor to see if they understood it, panic a little more and finally finish it.

Umm. Yeah, that never happens to me, (haha)  but what about some of our students? It is easy to forget how difficult learning can be. It is easy to forget that we need to sometimes teach things a couple times before our students will understand.

So, how do we stay understanding and empathetic about the struggles of our students, especially those that may struggle in a particular subject or just generally?


 

  1. I don’t know. I add that because I certainly don’t have the fix-all answer.
  2. Become a Learner. Try something that takes you out of your comfort zone, so you have to struggle.
  3. Think of Video Games. With games, when we fail to pass a level, we get to hit the restart button. Don’t be afraid to hit reset on your style. Encourage your students to be ‘okay’ with failing. Help them see it is not the end. Offer them a redo/ a start over/ a new chance.

What are your thoughts? How do you remain teachable? How do you encourage your students who struggle? Leave a comment with something you have heard or tried.

Derrick

