Tags

, , , , ,

“We want to attract teachers who aren’t recipe followers, but rather those who are willing to take a chance with a room full of kids.”

I was reading the tip of the week for the Daily 5. This was a quote the author shared. The post was about taking a chance in the classroom. Being a new teacher in any fashion–new to the district, new to the grade level, new to the school, new to the profession can be very intimidating. Couple this with all the various expectations placed on teachers from all sides-administration, colleagues, district, state, students, parents- it ramps up the pressure that much more.

11ac1a37041f54cf2fc370c840a41c42

That topic can bring a whole host of new blog posts, and many better than myself have done that. (I will probably speak to it at a later time.

The point of this post is to talk about how, in the midst of all that pressure, there is a struggle to find one’s style. To start working on the art of teaching. My administrator has said that it takes about 5 years of teaching a grade level to become really good at it. (Sorry, Boss, if I butchered what you said). I think that holds true. This year was the first year I got to teach the same grade level in the same classroom and it has been a really cool thing.

What I have enjoyed is the freedom to try new things in my classroom. I am constantly learning new things, whether from the district, my colleagues, or my own Professional Learning Network (PLN) through Twitter, Facebook or blogs. We are in a new-ish world where the boundaries of where we can get good teaching ideas is nearly unlimited.

Don’t even get me started on the Teacher Crack websites like Pinterest or Teachers Pay Teachers.

Find opportunities to try new things in your classroom this week or this month. Or, even better, just try ONE thing that may go against the grain a little.

Here are some possible take aways:

  • Always be Learning- Don’t keep doing things just because you have always done them that way. Or because “it’s always been done this way”. It is uncomfortable.
  • Not Only One Way- Their are many ways to meet the needs of students. Try a new one.
  • Be Creative-Challenge yourself. Don’t be afraid to try something new that other teachers are doing.
  • Be Careful for Ruts- Just because it has ‘always worked’ doesn’t mean we should try to hone our craft and step out into the unknown a little.
  • Find (Refine) Your Style– We want our students to be lifelong learners, so we should set that example and not be afraid to change things up a little as we develop or refine our style. Teachers, myself included, can sometimes be the worst students. Stop it. 🙂

It is not meant to be easy. But it is worth it.

Here is the post that inspired this post.

 

