No, not this one.

'Mom... he said dam again!'

Matt, from Ditch That Textbook, recently posted 10 Ways to start the school with a bang. I can only handle one at a time. So, here is mine.

  1. Choose your one word. Companies spend tons of time and money coming up with the perfect mission statement. We can accomplish just as much with one word. Try boiling your emphasis for the year into one word. It provides a laser focus. Plus, it’s easy to post in your classroom and at your desk for a reminder. One year, I wrote about choosing “voice” as my word.

Last year, I tried this and I found it helpful. The word I used last year was PURPOSEFUL. I used this shortly after making a mistake…That’s for another day. 🙂

This year, my focus word is GROWTH. Several blogs I read have been talking about things like MakerSpaces, Growth mindset, challenging kids to try new things, creating a safe space for these things to be done. This one kept coming up for me.

This one is a good focus for my students but also for me. This is my third year, in the same grade level and I am enjoying the idea of this. I like the idea of growing in the art of teaching. It is exciting, and scary. I am nowhere near where I would hope to be someday, but each step is exciting…and scary.

Did I mention it is sometimes scary to step out in a way that could fail? But IF we want our students to step out, be uncomfortable trying new things…we should to.

Have a great year. It won’t always be easy, but it will be worth it. (Thanks Angela Watson)

Think about it: What is your word for the year? Share in the comments.

 

failing-715x715

Yikes

