qf6jyyqomz_1401664675200Genius Hour is something I have been reading about for a couple years. It sounds pretty interesting. But like anything, it is a matter of: where in the world can I find the time?

With all the standards, deadlines, assessments…what can I do?

What is it?!

First off, what is genius Hour. The idea seems to come from Google, as a business. They allow their workers about 20% of their work week to consist of them working on a personal project. It could be related to work, or it could just be something they were interested in.

What does it look like?

This part, for me, is a little fuzzy. In the classroom, it is about 1 hour per day, or about 4  on a Friday. Frankly, this is one reason that I can not tried this. THAT is a a lot of time. And I have not been organized enough to know how to manage that in the class. How do I assess the forward movement? What is the final project? There are still a lot of unanswered questions.

pdf2bgenius2bhour2b4h2brules

Baby Steps

I still have no easy answers to all my questions. I want to try it, but, but, but…that is a lot of “free” time. So, how can I work toward integrating this? Maybe one or two Fridays a month, I can let the students work on a topic. I can have a mini conference to help guide students on some project that they can create a slideshow, or movie, or poster board, etc…something they are passionate about.

Talk About Engagement

While time and management are huge issues to overcome, what are some positives. One big one is: Engagement. Kagan has a motto, “It’s all about engagement”. What could be more engaging for students (or us) than researching, learning or creating something based on what interests you. That is a big deal.

Matt Miller has a good article on 10 reasons to try Genius Hour this year. Check it out if you are interested.

Action Plan

Is this something you would try?

How could you implement it?

What would your own Genius Hour be about?

Share your thoughts in the comments.

Derrick “Still not sure how it would work” Bright95109_orig

