Alright, so I am going to try and post a few pieces about technology. However, my schedule will be getting a little crazy the next couple months, so I will probably not be doing that as regularly.

That said, I named the post CUEsday because I will be going to the CUE conference in March and it is largely about being creative and using technology in the classroom. Needless to say, I am pretty excited. So, in that spirit I am hoping to share some of the technology I am currently using or that seem to have a useful feature to possibly add to our classroom toolbox.

9093974_orig

The app/website I will be looking at today is Remind. First off- It’s free!!

What is it?

  • Remind is basically a way to communicate with parents, all or just a few, in a simple way WITHOUT giving out your phone number. Some people are not too weird about that, and most times it would be okay, but I just try not to.

What is it like?

  • If you have used Class Dojo’s (CD) messenger; it is similar. I don’t use CD as much, so I mostly use this.

The Good? 

  • Send text messages to every parent who signed up–all at once.
  • Set office hours
  • Parents can message teacher–and all message threads are saved. (A good documentation piece)
  • Attachments- Could be used to attach homework or school announcement
  • Parents can receive text alerts or email alerts. Most people have one or the other.

The Challenge?

  • The hardest part is getting ALL parents on board. I usually try to get them all signed up at Parent Conferences, though some slip through. After some wrangling, coercion, begging and bombardment of parent slips reminding them to sign up, I have most parents signed up.
  • That’s about it. It is very easy to use, if you can send a text, or email, YOU can do this!

Conclusion:

Use it…or don’t. Plus, with Parent conferences coming up, this would be a great time to make sure everyone is signed up by the time they leave. Plus, if it doesn’t work for you, there are only a few months left. 🙂

If you have any questions about this app or others you would like to see, let me know in the comments.

Derrick

 

